Door 2 Tour

Coach Holidays, Escorted Tours & Events

0330 440 3999

Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Tour de France holidays by coach

Tour de France holidays by coach

tip from the team

Amanda says
Keep an eye out for Team cars throwing out souvenirs to the crowds before the race comes past!
  • overview
  • 2015 Tour Video
  • reviews

Coach trip packages including hotel, coach travel and finale of the Tour de France

When: Saturday 1st July - Sunday 23rd July 2017     
Where: Dusseldorf to Paris, France
Memorable Moments: 
2016 - Chris Froome abandons his bike and runs up Mont Ventouz following a collision. 
2013 - Chris Froome repeats Wiggins success and wins the 100th Tour de France
2012 - Bradley Wiggins becomes the first British man to win the Tour De France

The Tour de France is over for another year and what an exciting race it was. The British well and truely showed their prowess with Mark Cavendish winning four stages, Adam Yates winning the White jersey for Young Rider and of course Chris Froome winning the famous yellow jersey. 

The Tour de France 2017 will start in Dusseldorf and will consist of 21 stages. As always the Tour will colminate in a grand finale along the beautiful Champs-Élysées in Paris.

Approximately 200 cyclists take part in the race, each one competing in a team of nine. Each member of the team ends up recording the same time as their leading cyclist. To decide on who the overall winner is, the judging panel will add up the time scores for the team for each completed day of the race, the cyclist with the least accumulated hours wins the Tour de France.

The reason why the race is so colourful is because various achievements are marked with a different coloured jersey. The yellow jersey (maillot jaune) is worn by the cyclist who has accumulated the least amount of time per day. The green jersey (maillot vert) is given to the cyclist with the most sprint points. Finally, the polka dot jersey (maillot a pois) is for the cyclist who is the first to make it to the top of the mountain stages.

Previous Winners of the Tour de France:
2012 – Bradley Wiggins – United Kingdom
2013 – Chris Froome – United Kingdom
2014 - Vincenzo Nibali - Italy
2015 - Chris Froome - United Kingdom 
2016 - Chris Froome - United Kingdom 

Each competitor of the Tour de France belongs to a team of 9 cyclists comprising of one "leader" and eight domestiques. The domestiques' role is to protect the leader, from wind and provide the leader with food and drinks, ensuring the leader is victorious.